Photo: Michael Melford
|311 Temple St.
Also called Center Church, it was built on the New Haven Green by Ithiel Town between 1812 and 1815. Today’s exterior is essentially the original design. Henry Austin first remodeled the interior in 1842. A unique historic crypt is located in the church basement bearing tombstones that date back to 1687. Tours are available by appointment.